Weekly Recap -30/05/16-13/06/16

I had a bit of a bad week for reading for 30/05-06/06 so I decided to combine the last two weeks!

What I’ve Been Reading:

20331482

So I finished reading City of Heavenly Fire (Cassandra Clare) in the first week and oh, it was so good. I’ve been reading this series for the past few years and I’m just so happy to cross it off my list finally. It’s been a long time coming! I think I definitely prefer The Infernal Devices trilogy but I still adore the Shadowhunter world and I will happily consume anything Clare puts out set in that world. Speaking of TID, I think that was, by far, one of my favourite elements of the story. I literally squealed every time there was a reference and there were SO MANY! It was a solid end to a solid series but I think I need to take a break from the Shadowhunter world for a little while before I decide to pick up Lady Midnight. 138516

I also read Alice in Wonderland (Lewis Carroll) this week as I want to read more children’s classics. It was an enjoyable read but I definitely won’t be reading it again. It was charming to start with but the plot got a little bit too silly for me towards the end and I found the humour to be very repetitive, too. I slugged through the second half kind of wishing it would just end already. But I do appreciate the ideas behind it and the initial concept of adventure and I’m glad I read it anyway (and that it didn’t take too much valuable reading time out of my life!). But it only gets 2 stars from me.

Carry On

Finally, I also read Carry On (Rainbow Rowell). I’m a huge Rowell fan but when I started to see some not-so-positive reviews popping up, I decided to put off reading this for a while. HOW SILLY OF ME!! This book was amazing. A very easy five stars. I’ll have a full review and discussion up by the end of the week so look out for that. But, basically, I bloody loved it. The characters, the plot, the world. EVERYTHING. My only criticism would be that it was a little slow-going for the first few chapters but my overall enjoyment for the book definitely cancels that out. And I just really want more Simon and Baz!

My reading goals for this week: I am planning to start reading The Wrath and the Dawn (Renee Ahdieh) tonight and it looks like it’ll be quite a quick read for me so I’m hoping I can get to Scarlet (Marissa Meyer) sometime this week, too.

What I’ve Been Watching:

I FINALLY WATCHED X-MEN: APOCALYPSE!! I’ve been saying I keep meaning to go and see it for weeks now and, last night, I finally did! It definitely wasn’t at the same level as Days of Future Past (no X-Men film is or ever will be!) but it was still pretty decent. I loved the addition of characters in this one but I’m not sure they were utilised well enough. I think the main problem with this film is that X-Men films usually aren’t about mass destruction of cities and it’s usually quite contained. But, also, and especially in DoFP, there are very clever scenes where the mutant’s powers are used creatively and uniquely. And I just didn’t see that here. I’m not sure what else was missing in this film but it felt like not enough thought went into it. It felt like they had a strict time when they wanted the film to be released and didn’t much care for how the end product would present itself. So, even though I enjoyed it overall, there was just something missing for me, something special that is usually found in the X-Men film franchise (excluding the obvious bombs).

My watching goals for this week: I definitely want to see Me Before You this week. I wasn’t overly impressed with the book. I found it incredibly predictable and wasn’t keen on the MC. But, I’m curious about how the book will translate to screen and at my local cinema it’s only £4 a film so, might as well, eh?

Stark Reviews Logo

Leave a Reply

