Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

As always Top Ten Tuesday was created by the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish. You can check them out here.

This weeks’ topic is Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year. I’ve only read 3 2016 releases so I thought I’d talk about my favourite books I’ve read so far this year since I’ve read some right good little gems! Picking out a top ten for the whole year in December will be the biggest struggle. Especially since narrowing down to just ten books over the past six months was hard enough 😊heart divider

Here are my top ten 2016 reads so far in the order they were read:

Ritter_BeastlyBones_jkt_COMP.indd

1. Beastly Bones by William Ritter

The Jackaby series is fast becoming one of my favourites. Whilst I did prefer the first instalment in the series, this one was still just as charming and just as funny and I cannot wait to read the next one coming out this August.

15839984

2. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

A weird one but a good one. Greek mythology entwined with a Beauty and the Beast retelling and beautiful writing was definitely my cup of tea.

6547260

3. The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

This series will be the death of me. I take such long breaks between reading them because I just can’t deal with the emotional impact they have on me 😂 But I still love ’em!

27281393

4. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury

Hands down, my favourite book of the year so far. Literally my dream series. If I could only recommend one book/series it would be this one. READ IT. Pretty please.

26047310

5. Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This was a really different read for me. I’ve never read anything with this kind of backdrop and I found it a lot of fun to experience it all for the first time. Especially with that kind of fast-paced action in the plot.

8475505

6. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Harper made me fall completely in love with this story. I loved reading from her perspective and she will always have a special place in my heart as one of my most beloved heroines. My full review can be found here.

14061957

7. Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

I always seem to love the last book in a series much more than any other one and this series is no exception. I adore the world and I adored the characters even more. My review can be found here.

8. Clockwork Prince/Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Okay I know I’m cheating a bit by putting these two together but I can’t choose between them – I love them both! Clockwork Prince for the Jem-ness of it and Clockwork Princess for the most glorious epilogue to ever grace a book. My review for Clockwork Prince can be found here.

20331482

9. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Another great series-ender from Clare and one that I thoroughly enjoyed. Wasn’t quite as emotionally draining as Clockwork Princess but it definitely had everything I was hoping for and more.

Carry On

10. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I’m still not over this one. I read it just over a week ago and I can’t seem to get it out of my head. Hilarious, cute and loads of fun. I never re-read books but I definitely feel the urge to with this one! You can find my full review here.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

Leave a Reply

