Weekly Recap – 20/06/16-04/07/16

What I’ve Been Reading:

I’ve decided to combine two weeks worth of reading together again because I haven’t really read all that much lately unfortunately.

My reading goal was to pick a  book and stick to it but I kind of failed completely with that one. I just can’t seem to settle! So I’m actually reading six books at the moment because clearly I have issues 😂

Animal Farm

I did, however, manage to finish reading one book: Animal Farm (George Orwell) which I really loved. And it’s my second classic of the year! And I’m really proud of myself for reading it. My Mum read it over a year ago and she adored it so she’d been bugging me ever since to read it. I’d been putting it off for ages because I have this weird fear about reading classics apparently! But, as I said, I loved it. It was just so clever and so well written. I definitely will be picking up 1984 at some point, hopefully soon.

The Shadow Hour

I managed to pick up The Shadow Hour (Melissa Grey) this week (which hasn’t even been formerly published yet – BLESS YOU WATERSTONES). I had so much fun reading the first book in the series, The Girl At Midnight, and I’m about halfway through this one and I’m  enjoying it just as much. I’m slowing down reading this one though because I don’t want to have to wait a whole year for the final book to come out. So who knows when I’ll actually finish this… or any of these books!Finding Audrey

I’m also about 100 pages into Finding Audrey (Sophie Kinsella) and it’s alright. I picked this up wanting to read it since I’ve never read a Sophie Kinsella book before but I forgot how much I hate being in the mind of someone suffering from social anxiety, since I have to deal with enough of that in my own mind. Completely my own fault! It’s quite light-hearted though so maybe I’ll end up liking it. I’ll definitely keep reading it; it’s a very quick, easy read.

The Phantom of the Opera

Since I’ve read two classics recently, I thought I’d try to carry on with my flow and pick up another one. This time The Phantom of the Opera (Gaston Leroux). I adore the musical so much so it made sense to see if I’d like the original story. Only a few chapters in so not much to say on it yet, but I’m really liking the writing style.

In between these two main reads, I’ve also been reading Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, The Bane Chronicles (Cassandra Clare) and Saga Volume 3 (Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples). Loving all of these, particularly HP. I’ve never read 4 or 5 so I’m having a really great time experiencing all of it for the first time. There’s so much more to it than the film – more than usual, I mean. I love all the little details of magic we get.

I wanted to read The Bane Chronicles this month because I’m not letting myself buy Lady Midnight until I’ve finished it! I’ve read the first short story and, I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I don’t think that was it. Maybe it’s because it’s co-written? I don’t know. But I need Lady Midnight ASAP and I might enjoy the other authors writing styles a little bit better. Hopefully.

Wow, that was a very long reading wrap-up (which consisted of me only finishing one book – oops!).

My reading goals for this week: My goal is to read. That is it 😂

What I’ve Been Watching:

Guys I left it too long to watch Me Before You and now it’s not in cinemas anymore. So I guess I’ll wait a little bit longer to see it. But, to be honest, I’m not too bothered. The book wasn’t that great and I was only gonna go for Sam Claflin anyway 😂

GAME OF THRONES. AHHHHHHHHHH. My heart. For some stupid reason I didn’t catch up on the whole season until the day before the finale and, oh God, I had way too many emotions to process at once. HOLD THE DOOR. Literally destroyed me. I swear I will break down if anyone ever utters that phrase in my presence. Also, R + L = J. YAAAAS. My fangirl heart is happy.

My watching goals for this week: There aren’t any good films out/coming out any time soon I don’t think. So I’ll probably just binge-watch a few TV shows.

Stark Reviews Logo

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recap – 20/06/16-04/07/16

Leave a Reply

