Weekly Recap – 04/07/16-11/07/16

What I’ve Been Reading:

This week (starting Saturday) I decided to participate in Cram-a-thon (hosted by the lovely WhittyNovels and SaraWithoutAnH) and I’ve managed to complete a couple of the challenges already.

The Shadow Hour

I finished reading The Shadow Hour (Melissa Grey) for the ‘read a book you have never finished’ challenge and it was so good! I gave it a 4.25 stars. It built really well upon the first instalment and had all the great elements of the first book, such as the characters and the humour, but mixed with a plot that was much darker in tone. Also, we learnt a lot more about the characters, particularly the MC and her backstory which I felt grounded them and overall made the story much more believable. My only issue was that I felt the pacing was a little slow at times, especially during the second quarter. But, other than that, a solid sequel to a solid series. I’m so sad that I have to wait another year until I can read the final book in the trilogy 😭 I’ll be writing a full review of this one, so stay tuned for that!

The Magician's Nephew

I’ve also just finished reading The Magician’s Nephew (C.S. Lewis) which is the first (chronological) book in The Chronicles of Narnia for the ‘read a book under 200 pages’ challenge. I enjoyed it so much better than I thought I would! I’ve always wanted to read this series and, for some reason, I’ve just been putting off reading it (as I tend to do with a lot of books/series – woops). But I am so glad this read-a-thon made me pick it up. It basically centres around the creation of Narnia and sets up the story for The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I always love to read creation stories and all their different interpretations of how worlds came to be so I really found myself liking this story and thought it was a great introduction the magical world of Narnia. I very much look forward to carrying on with this series and, in particular, reading the instalments which have film adaptations to see which medium of the story I prefer.Saga Volume 3

For the ‘read a graphic novel’ challenge, I’ll be finishing off Saga Volume 3 (Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples). I’m already half-way through so I’ll probably finish reading it tomorrow sometime. Sadly, I’m not enjoying this volume as much as I did the previous two. I feel like nothing has really been happening so far but hopefully it gets more action-y towards the end. But definitely my least favourite.

As I won’t be attempting to complete the ‘read a book of verse/poetry’ challenge because I have no desire to do so, I’ll be instead completing the ‘read a short story/novella’ challenge twice. I’ll be continuing on with The Bane Chronicles (Cassandra Clare) and reading The Runaway Queen and I’ll also be reading another short story from Time Lord Fairy Tales (Justin Richards & David Wardle) called Frozen Beauty which sounds intriguing!

Finding Audrey

This week I’ve also DNF’d Finding Audrey (Sophie Kinsella). I honestly have no desire whatsoever to read it. I thought I did when I started reading it, but no, I really can’t be bothered with it πŸ˜‚Β It was fun and light-hearted so I’m sure loads of people would enjoy it but I’m just really not in the mood for it. Also, I had issues with the stereotypes of the ‘useless’ father and the ‘bossy’ mother. So it’ll be going back to the library (amongst a few others I’m no longer in the mood to read, e.g. The Dream Thieves and An Ember In the Ashes) later today. Which will feel like a weight off my shelves!

My reading goals for thisΒ week:Β I’d really like to finish reading The Bane Chronicles because I’m finally giving in and ordering Lady Midnight but even if it arrives I’m not allowing myself to read it until I’ve finished TBC so I seriously need to get reading it!

What I’ve Been Watching:

I decided to re-watch one of my favourite films that I hadn’t watched for quite some time: The Fault In Our Stars. I’ve seen it so many times but this was definitely the most I’ve cried watching it this time around. I don’t know why it struck me as it did but UGH it got me. It got me right in the feels. I wasn’t even crying a little bit, I was full-on ugly crying. Don’t think I’ll ever watch this film with anyone else. Unless I fancy feeling very embarrassed πŸ˜‚

My watching goals for this week:Β I’m in a real Christmass-y mood right now (weird, I know) so I fancy watching a few films that make me feel nostalgic and gooey inside. So I think I might watch Stardust, the Narnia films and a few Disney films because why not?

Stark Reviews Logo

2 thoughts on “Weekly Recap – 04/07/16-11/07/16

Leave a Reply

