My Reading Year So Far | 2016 Stats

Just thought I’d make a quick post to show you guys how I’m doing so far with my reading. I had only a few reading resolutions this year as I wasn’t really sure what I wanted to achieve.

My first reading goal was the Goodreads reading challenge and my goal is to read 50 books.

Reading Challenge

As you can see I am well on my way to completing this challenge which I am very pleased with! Last year my Goodreads reading challenge was to read 30 books and I surpassed it by reading 45 books so I’m hoping next year I’ll challenge myself 75 books, depending on how many I actually end up reading this year overall.

My next challenge was to read 1 classic. And, thus far, I have read 3!! I am so unbelievably proud of myself for this challenge. I think I just needed to start reading a classic to really kick the ball rolling here. I’ve only read relatively easy classics so far (two of which were children’s fiction) but, baby steps guys! I’ll work my way up to the dense, slightly more time consuming stuff later on in life. Much later on!

Another book-related goal of mine was to get my TBR (currently owned books) down to 40 books. I thought I was being realistic saying 40 because my birthday and Christmas would have just occurred but my TBR is currently at 51 books. Considering I started the year with 52 books on my TBR, I’d say I wasn’t doing particularly well in this respect. I think it might be because I’ve borrowed a handful of my Mum’s books and have also read quiteΒ a few library books this year.

Which actually leads me into my next challenge which is to read 8 library books. I’ve read 7 and am currently reading 2 more library books so this challenge is practically completed. But I do need to slow down on my library reading if I ever want to get my TBR down low enough!

I also had a list of 16 books that I wanted to get to this year:

1. All the Light We Cannot See
2. The Raven Boys
3. Rebel Belle
4. Black City
5. Snow Like Ashes
6. Neverwhere
7. The Gates
8. The Lies of Locke Lamora
9. Shadowmagic
10. Severed Heads, Broken Hearts DNF
11. The Manifesto on How to be Interesting
12. The Well of Ascension
13. The Hero of Ages
14. Dreams of Gods and Monsters
15. Siege and Storm
16. Ruin and Rising

I’ve only read 7/16 of these so far so I need to get on with this one. I might dedicate August to reading a few of these, particularly The Hero of Ages and Dreams of Gods and Monsters as I would also be completing….

My finish reading 5 series challenge. So far I have completed The Infernal Devices trilogy, The Mortal Instruments series and the Grisha trilogy. So when I finish reading the aforementioned pair of books, I will have completed this challenge, too.

My last challenge was to finish reading Harry Potter. I am currently reading Goblet of Fire so I still have quite a long way to go. I think if I just manage to finish reading Order of the Phoenix, I’d be pretty content as I would have actually, officially, read all of the Harry Potter books at that point. Which is something I should really get done!

I just wanted to show you guys a little breakdown of the books I’ve read so far this year.

Ratings

I’ve managed to read 12,379 pages, which is only 2,000 pages below the amount of pages I read last year.

I also wanted to be much stricter with my ratings of books this year which I feel like I have been. I always round up on Goodreads so quite a few of the 4 star books are actually 3.5’s. I’ve also given my very first 1 star rating on Goodreads this year, too – yay me! Last year the 4 star ratings and the 5 star ratings were practically on par with each other so I’m proud of myself for holding back on those ratings and only saving them for extra special books that have a place in my heart.

So, all in all, I’m well on track this year for completing most of my bookish resolutions. The one I need to focus on most, of course, is the TBR shelf one. Thankfully there’s a few read-a-thon’s coming up which I’ll be participating in so hopefully I’ll get to quite a few of my owned books then. I won’t be purchasing any more books until September now anyway (Empire of Storms & Crooked Kingdom – both of which I’ll read straight away) so I’ll have a wee bit of time to catch up.

I hope everyone else’s reading resolutions are going well too! Let me know if you’re on track to complete your goals or if you’ve slowly come to the realisation that you set yourself too many difficult challenges (like me with reading all of Harry Potter!).Stark Reviews Logo

2 thoughts on “My Reading Year So Far | 2016 Stats

Leave a Reply

