BookTube-A-Thon 2016 | Update #1

Instead of the usual weekly recap post today, I’ll be bringing to you daily reading updates for the BookTube-A-Thon! Here I’ll be talking about my daily goals, if I managed to achieve them and how I am staying motivated to read all day long.

I’ll be writing out my goals in the morning and coming back to the post in the evening just before I go to bed to write out my achievements for the day so I hope I’m not too disappointed too often!

Monday Reading Goals:

  • I need to read a total of 1,492 pages for the week which translates to roughly 213 pages per day.
  • I’d like to read a minimum of 2 chapters of each book I am not yet currently reading.
    • The Iron Trial – p.177 (15 pages)
    • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – p.27 (27 pages)
    • Rooftoppers – p.18 (18 pages)
    • War Horse – p.21 (21 pages)
    • Reasons to Stay Alive – p.41 (32 pages)
    • = 113 pages
  • So I have to read a minimum of 100 pages of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and The Bane Chronicles.
    • The Bane Chronicles – p.223 (42 pages)
    • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – p.451 (65 pages)
    • = 107 pages
  • This will bring my total pages of the day at 220 pages. Well, that’s the aim anyway!

Monday Reading Achievements:

  • The Iron Trial – p.177 (15 pages)
  • The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – p.27 (27 pages)
  • Rooftoppers – p.18 (18 pages)
  • War Horse – p.21 (21 pages)
  • Reasons to Stay Alive – p.41 (32 pages)
  • The Bane Chronicles – p.223 (42 pages)
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – p.451 (65 pages)

Unfortunately I didn’t quite manage my Monday reading goals. I was so close! But I only read 1 chapter of Harry Potter rather than the 3 I had set for myself. I read a total of 173 pages out of the necessary 213 pages. But it’s not the end of the world! I can easily make up for it at the weekend where I’ll have much more time to read anyway.

Monday Motivation:

I think it really helped me to not focus solely on one book and get bogged down with it. It was much better for me to set myself mini reading goals of each book on my TBR. It not only made my goal of reading 213 pages a day much more doable, but it also made it much more fun.

What keeps me motivated when I’m reading is turning reading into a game of sorts. Sometimes I can get a little bit tired of reading, particularly if it’s a really long book. I’ll love the story but I’ll just get to the point where I hit a wall and just can’t read anymore. So reading 7 books at once will, I’m hoping, shake things up a bit and keep them interesting enough for me to keep on reading.

How was your first day of the BookTube-A-Thon? What are your tips for staying motivated?

Stark Reviews Logo

8 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon 2016 | Update #1

  1. Great tips!!! I’m listening to goblet of fire driving to work and when I’m doing chores and stuff around the house so I don’t think about the pages, which helps and then I read other books! I definitely found reading multiple books really helps me stay motivated. I’m not a massive fan of reading multiple books at a time but it really helps during read-a-thons!! Your doing great with your goals, keep up the good work!! 👌🏻👊🏻💖💖

    Like

    1. I really need to start getting into audio books, I feel like I’d get so much more reading done when I’m out and about. No I’m not either really haha. But it’s definitely the only way I can get through this read-a-thon! Plus they’re mainly children books so I feel like I’m not straining myself too much! Thank-you!! How are you getting on with your books?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I’m doing alright, about half way through goblet of fire and 100 pages in the rest of us just live here by Patrick ness, gunna try and finish that today and then read some more HP, and onto Scarlet by Marissa Meyer tomorrow teehee 🙈🙈

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That’s a lot better than alright! Sounds like you’re way on top of things. I really enjoyed reading The Rest of Us Just Live Here, it was a really interesting take on the chosen one story. Hope you have a great day of reading!! ^_^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

