BookTube-A-Thon 2016 | Wrap-Up

So I started my week of attempting to read 7 books really well. I had an update being posted each day, I was (nearly) reaching my daily reading goals. But then about halfway through the read-a-thon it just went a little downhill. I found myself pretty busy on Thursday and Saturday and then yesterday I had the worst headache ever and could barely keep my eyes open enough to read. So I didn’t quite manage the anticipated 7 books.

However, I did manage to read 4 books and, looking at my Goodreads, that’s actually the most amount of books I’ve ever read in a single week! So although I didn’t read all 7 books, I still feel like I’ve really achieved something from this read-a-thon.

BookTube-A-Thon was so much fun to participate in too! Whether I was catching up on people’s daily updates and challenge videos, getting involved with the Twitter sprints or just attempting to read a zillion pages a day, I had a lot of fun. And fun should always be the aim of a read-a-thon!

So let’s talk about the books I did manage to read during the BookTube-A-Thon.

The Iron Trial

The first book I finished was The Iron Trial (Cassandra Clare & Holly Black). I’ve mentioned previously how I had put this book down for over a year as I wasn’t the biggest fan of it at the time but I thoroughly enjoyed picking this book back up and I’m very glad that I gave it another shot. There were a few twists and turns that I really wasn’t expecting and I love being surprised like that – usually I’m pretty good at guessing plot twists because of my anxiety and my ability to create ridiculously unlikely situations/conversations in my head […]

I think I can only give this a 3/5 stars though since I can’t really remember how I felt about the first half of the book when I read it all that time ago.

For me, the second half was fun and surprising and has left me wondering where this story could possibly go after that reveal. Although TIT was far from perfect (the characters were kind of flat and the plot was a little disjointed), it has definitely piqued my interest. The fact that I have already taken out the sequel from the library can probably suggest to you my excitement for the rest of the series.War Horse

I then finished reading War Horse (Michael Morpurgo). I am a huge fan of both the show and the film and, you know what? I am now also a huge fan of the book. This story does not disappoint in any way you choose to consume it. I cried watching the play, I really cried watching the film and now I’ve also cried reading the book. It’s such a beautifully tragic story and the innocence of the narrator just makes it even more heartbreaking. Truly a great story that everyone should pick up. I gave it a 4/5 stars.

The Bane Chronicles

I also read The Bane Chronicles (Cassandra Clare) and I gave this book overall a 3.75-4/5 stars. Although I loved and really liked most of the stories, there were a few thatΒ were a tad too slow and boring for my liking.

What Really Happened in Peru – 1.75/5 stars

The writing here felt really choppy and the humour felt really try-hard. This story just didn’t work for me.

The Runaway Queen – 2/5 stars

This short story was better than the last but I was still pretty bored throughout.

Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale – 3.75/5 stars

I really enjoyed this one! This story was more like what I assumed the whole book would be – connecting with the original two series and explaining how certain things came to be. It was a lot of fun to see Will’s father and how similar they both were.

The Midnight Heir – 5/5 stars

Obviously this story had to get 5 stars. Seeing my favourite characters again was a treat. And it also makes me SO excited for The Last Hours!! I have so many questions that I want answered ASAP.

The Rise of the Hotel Dumort – 2/5 stars

The fact that I can’t even remember what happens in this short story says it all really.

Saving Raphael Santiago – 4/5 stars

I really loved this one! Raphael was one of my favourite characters in TMI and it was so interesting to read about his relationship with Magnus (and Ragnor!)

The Fall of the Hotel Dumort – 3/5 stars

This was nice. I don’t really have too many feelings about this one either…

What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything – 4/5 stars

This was definitely one of the funniest short stories. It was fun and quite sweet. Very nice.

The Last Stand of the New York Institute – 4.75/5 stars

This is more of what I wanted from this book. In fact, I’d love a whole prequel book (or more novellas) about the Circle and Valentine. I loved how dark and gritty the story was. And I especially loved the last 10 pages or so!!

The Course of True Love – 4.75/5 stars

I loved this one too! Pure Malec goodness […] Everything I could want involving these two characters.

The Voicemail of Magnus Bane – 4/5 stars

This felt much more like classic Clare humour. Izzy was a particular fave in this one. Great way to tie up the book.

Overall I did really enjoy this book, although it was a bit hit-and-miss at times. Either way, I’m glad I read it. Now I can read Lady Midnight – YAY!!

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

Lastly, I also finished The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (C.S. Lewis). Unfortunately I can only give this a 2.75/5 stars. Compared to the first book in the series (which is actually the last book Β in the series that Lewis wrote – and you can definitely tell that) it just isn’t as good. Everything felt under-developed and flat and the pacing of the story was way off.

Having said this, I have watched the film over 10 times so my enjoyment of the book may have been deeply hindered by the fact that I’m so familiar with the film adaptation and so was expecting something more along those lines.

I’m still excited to carry on with the series though and I’m hoping that the writing gets stronger as the books go along (if The Magician’s Nephew is anything to go by).Reasons to Stay Alive

I decided to stop reading Reasons to Stay Alive (Matt Haig) for this read-a-thon. I read about 1/3 of it and felt like it was the kind of book I should spend more time reading and not try to race through just to tick off. So I’ll definitely be carrying on with it, but only a few chapters or so a day.

I still have 107 pages to read for Goblet of Fire and 105 pages to read for Rooftoppers (Katherine Rundell) but I’m hoping to finish these two in the next couple of days. And I also need to watch the Goblet of Fire afterwards too as it was meant to be my book-to-movie adaptation option. Although I quite fancy watching War Horse and Narnia now aswell! And then after that I will be reading Lady Midnight (Cassandra Clare)Β which will probably take me to the end of the month given the massive size of it!

All in all the BookTube-A-Thon was a great experience. I had lots of fun and I’ll definitely be participating in more read-a-thon’s from now on!

How did you guys do for the BookTube-A-Thon?Stark Reviews Logo

5 thoughts on “BookTube-A-Thon 2016 | Wrap-Up

  1. I wondered where you got to, I missed seeing your daily updates πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ so happy you need so well in the end! My wrap up is going up tonight, I’m so happy with how I did in the end!! πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆβ€οΈβ€οΈ

    Like

Leave a Reply

