Weekly Recap – 25/07/16-01/08/16

What I’ve Been Reading:

I’ve taken a bit of a casual approach to my reading this week after the hectic-ness that was the BookTube-A-Thon. I finished one book and am about halfway through another.

22844191

So I finished Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire and it was the first one to get a 5 stars from me. Basically, Hermione in this instalment is everything.

And Ron is, well, a dick. Seriously, what an awful person. He’s constantly putting Hermione down, he has an incredibly narrow-minded view of the world and won’t accept anyone else’s opinions and he even goes so far as to victim-blame Hermione. He’s actually worse than Draco in my opinion. At least you know what to expect from Draco, but with Ron it’s like he’s a ninja bad guy. You think he’s decent and nice but once you’ve gotten to know him he’s actually borderline emotionally abusive and treats people he’s meant to care about like crap.

Sorry I went on a bit of a rant but this just really bugged me. Does anyone else dislike Ron? Sorry not sorry if you love him.Lady Midnight

On a lighter note, I’m also reading Lady Midnight!! I’m taking my time with it to make it last as long as possible… but I’m struggling because it’s so good! Emma Carstairs is a great protagonist. I love how she’s so adamant about seeking revenge at all costs. She’s fierce and strong and so my kinda girl. I also really like that we get to explore more of the lore surrounding the Faerie Downworlders. I’m really enjoying Clare’s imaginings of Faeries and the mythology that goes along with it. And the plot itself is really engaging. Basically I’m just Shadowhunter trash, I have nothing bad to say 😂

My reading goals for this week: Finishing Lady Midnight is my main priority. I’ve also just started reading The Copper Gauntlet (only 1 chapter in) and I’d really like to pick up Dreams of Gods and Monsters too.

What I’ve Been Watching:

I’ve been re-watching an old fave again – Not Going Out. For those who don’t know, it’s a British comedy and it’s basically hilarious. I got the box-set from my brother last Christmas and, although I’ve already watched the entire thing since Christmas, I’ve been binge-watching it like crazy again. Oops.

Also, why is the Great British Bake Off not on yet!?!?!? Stupid Olympics. I don’t know anyone that would rather watch sport than watch Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood. Well I do, but we don’t talk about those people 😂

My watching goals for this week: I have three films I need to watch that are (nearly all) out right now: Finding Dory, Star Trek Beyond and Suicide Squad. I’m meant to be watching Star Trek with my family but we can’t seem to all agree on a time/day so I might have to see this one solo – sorry family!

Stark Reviews Logo

Leave a Reply

