Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite First Sentences

Hello bookish friends! Here with another Top 5 Wednesday. As always T5W is hosted by the lovely Sam over at Thoughts on Tomes and you can find the Goodreads group here.

This weeks’ topic is favourite first sentences. First lines in books are very important to me. They pretty much determine whether or not I’ll take a book out of a library or ultimately end up purchasing a book. For me, first lines carry a lot of weight. So I decided to go through a crap ton of my books just to pick out my favourites. Which was so much harder than I thought it would be! But I think I’m happy with the ones I chose […]

The 5th Wave1. The 5th Wave – Rick Yancey

“There will be no awakening”

This is probably my favourite first line. When I first read that line I remember thinking: this sounds like a line from a super cool sci-fi film! It felt so powerful to me and it really set the tone for the rest of the book. Which I ended up loving and giving an easy 5 stars to.

234371562. Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

“Joost had two problems: the moon and his moustache”

I’d never picked up a Leigh Bardugo book previous to Six of Crows so when I started reading the first few lines in the book shop, I thoughtΒ it would definitely be my cup of tea. And, you know what? IT BLOODY WAS. It ended up being my favourite book of last year.

158399843. Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

“I was raised to marry a monster”

I love short first lines like this that essentially set up the tone for the entire novel. They always have some kind of effect on me and make me pause to savour what’s actually being said. It felt dark and sexy and that pretty much describes the book!

21936988

4. The Sin Eater’s Daughter – Melinda Salisbury

“Even when there are no prisoners, I can still hear the screams”

One of the few books that I’ve picked up on a whim without researching beforehand. And it was all due to those first few lines which were golden. I’m actually really glad that I didn’t research this book beforehand as it has quite mixed reviews and my life would not have been totally complete without this series in it […] So bless you Melinda Salisbury for your gorgeous writing and your ability to write a kick-ass first sentence!

26047310

5.Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

“They said the only folk who belonged in Deadshot after dark were the ones who were up to no good. I wasn’t up to no good. Then again, I wasn’t exactly up to no bad, neither”

Okay so this one’s a few sentences, but still. Those opening lines immediately had me interested. Again, I picked this one up on a whim, too. Also ridiculously glad that I did. It was so much fun!

What are some of your favourite first sentences?
Stark Reviews Logo

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite First Sentences

  1. I have the first two books in The 5th Wave Trilogy, but I’ve lost my interest in reading them. 😦 Maybe one day that will change? Great Top 5! I never even thought to write down or mark the great first sentences in the books I’ve read, so this week’s topic was a little hard. I had to switch it up a bit πŸ™‚ My T5W! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t blame you! I read and loved the 1st book but the reviews were too negative to make me pick the next two up. I’m just gonna think of it as a standalone! Thanks 😊 Ooh that’s a really great idea for a T5W!! I’ve had my eye on Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock for a while – is it any good?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

