August Wrap-Up | September TBR | 2016

I’ve decided to go back to monthly Wrap-Up’s and TBR’s for a little while. Lately I just haven’t been reading enough for my Weekly Recap posts and when I don’t post it for a week I feel guilty and since this blog is just meant to be a bit of fun, I really don’t want to feel that way. So I’ll be doing monthly wrap-up’s but I might post a weekly recap here and there if I read loads that week or if I want to talk about something else. I just want to keep things nice and chilled so I’m hoping this is the right way to do that.

Anyway, on with the books I read this month! Which really wasn’t that many, oops.

August Reads:

Lady Midnight

Lady Midnight –ย Cassandra Clare –ย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ.75

The strongest start to a Shadowhunter Chronicles book yet, Lady Midnight managed to pull me in right from the beginning with its incredibly well-developed characters and all of their compellingย internal struggles. The dynamics between the Blackthorn family in particular, I really liked. I also love how we’re now 11 books and 3 series in and there’s still so much to be uncovered in this story world. The only thing that bothered me was the info-dumping that took place during the first 150 pages or so. It made the beginning feel quite slow and clunky and felt a bit stop-start to me. But overall, a highly recommended read if you love all things Shadowhunter-y.

The Copper Gauntlet

The Copper Gauntletย – Holly Black and Cassandra Clare –ย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

A solid sequel, although I’m not sure I enjoyed it as much as the first book in the series. Whilst I liked the conceptsย and various plot twists, I feel like the three main characters had a tendency to be quite bland and one-dimensional. The writing was fun and devious, with heaps of moral ambiguity but is altogether presented without much depth or complexity. This is a children’s seriesย so perhaps I’m being a tad harsh but, in spite of that, I’m still very interested in the story and will definitely be continuing on.

6547259

The Hero of Agesย –ย Brandon Sandersonย –ย ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

The Mistborn series has a very special place in my heart and the final book completely tore my heart to shreds. It was probably one of the best series-enders I’ve ever read – I was so satisfied with how everything was tied together. It was an incredibly realistic ending too. Yes it made me ugly cry, but ahhhh it was perfect! Although it was, as always, a little slow in places, the character development and the last 100 pages or so more than makes up for it. A series I’d recommend to absolutely everyone even remotely interested in fantasy!

Septemberย TBR:

I have loads of books I’d like to read this month and I’ve already finished one (yay!) so I’m feeling hopeful.Empire of Storms

I cannot WAIT to get my hands on this tomorrow!! I had mixed feelings about Queen of Shadows so I really hope this doesn’t disappoint.

The Alloy of Law

I’m currently reading this and having a great time in the Mistborn world. The dialogue between Wax and Wayne is hilarious and seeing how the events from the original trilogy have effected the world 300 years later is so interesting and also tears me up a little!

The Emperor's Soule

As you can probably guess I’m in a Brandon Sanderson kind of mood right now! I plan on reading all of his Cosmere works and I’m starting out with the shorter ones first.

I started reading these for the Read Them All readathon but I didn’t quite manage to finish them so hopefully I’ll pick these back up this month. I’m especially excited to continue reading Dreams of Gods and Monsters.

Crooked Kingdom

And, finally, I’ll be picking this one up at the end of the month, the second it comes out because AHHHH I am so excited for it!! Six of Crows was my favourite read of last year so my expectations for the sequel are sky high.

heart divider

So that’s it for my wrap-up/tbr for this month! What do you guys plan on reading for September?
Stark Reviews Logo

Leave a Reply

