My Bookish New Years’ Resolutions 2017

Aaaaand I’m back! *Pauses for cheers*

Well it’s certainly been a while, hasn’t it? I fell out of love with blogging but I feel like I want to start it all back up again. At least, that’s number 5 on my list of bookish resolutions, so here we go!heart divider

1. First up: the Goodreads Challenge. Since I read 73 books last year out of the 50  I anticipated, I am planning on (hopefully!) getting to 75 books for this reading year. It was tough enough to read those 73 so this will be a pretty difficult challenge for me but I’ve been reading quite a bit since I started working in London (the only good thing about commuting). So if I read between 6 and 7 books a month (and not the erratic 16 books I read in December), I’ll be well on my way to completing this challenge.

2. I’d also like to broaden my tastes a little this year. I have read next to no classics and I’d like to change this. So I’m starting off easy and planning to read 5 classics this year in total. I’m hoping to read:

  1. The Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis (counting these as 1 classic on my list – it’s kind of cheating otherwise!)
  2. 1984 – George Orwell
  3. The Picture of Dorian Grey – Oscar Wilde
  4. Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  5. A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens

And next year I want to read classics written only by women since this list I’ve only just realised is all men! Definitely didn’t plan on that one, but these are the classics I’m most excited for at the mo.

3. I have a ton of contemporaries that I own, too, so I’d like to try to focus on reading those. I have 8 I’d like to read this year:

  1. Holding Up the Universe – Jennifer Niven
  2. The Serpent King – Jeff Zentner
  3. You Know Me Well – David Levithan & Nina LaCour
  4. Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson
  5. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
  6. The Upside of Unrequited – Becky Albertalli
  7. The Geography of You and Me – Jennifer E. Smith
  8. The Manifesto On How to Be Interesting – Holly Bourne

I’m not the hugest fan of contemporaries. I have to be really in the mood for one so I won’t be too disappointed if I don’t manage to read all of these. I’d rather wait to be in the mood for something than read it because I feel like I need to cross it off my TBR. So we’ll see for this one.

4. I really want to finish reading 10 series this year. Given that I’ve only got 1 more book to read for 6 of the series I want to finish, I’d say I’ve got this one in the bag. The series I definitely want to finish are:

  1. The Winner’s Trilogy – Marie Rutkoski (1 book)
  2. The Sin Eater’s Daughter trilogy – Melinda Salisbury (1 book)
  3. Harry Potter – J.K. Rowling (I’ve actually already read them all but this is the first time I’ve read them all in chronological order!) (2 books)
  4. Penryn and the End of Days trilogy – Susan Ee (1 book)
  5. ACOTAR – Sarah J. Maas (1 book)
  6. Throne of Glass series – Sarah J. Maas (1 book)
  7. The Girl At Midnight trilogy – Melissa Grey (1 book)
  8. Shadowmagic trilogy – John Lenehan (2 books)

And I’m not sure which other series I’ll actually finish this year, but these are the maybe’s:

  1. The Raven Cycle – Maggie Stiefvater (3 books)
  2. The Chronicles of Narnia – C.S. Lewis (5 books)
  3. The Lunar Chronicles – Marissa Meyer (3 books)
  4. The Young Elites – Marie Lu (2 books)
  5. Legend – Marie Lu (2 books)
  6. The Reckoners – Brandon Sanderson (3 books)
  7. His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman (3 books)

5. This resolution is probably going to be most challenging for me: Up my bookish social-media-ing game. I don’t want to be too unrealistic and set myself up just to fail so I’m going to say 1 blog post a week on here and 3 bookstagram pics a week. That’s seems doable-ish, right? I mean, I have already failed for the first week but I’m still going to try!

Well that’s it for my bookish resolutions, what are some of yours?
Stark Reviews Logo

Leave a Reply

