2017 TBR – Books I NEED to Read!!

We all love a good list, don’t we? Well here’s one of all the books I absolutely MUST get to in 2017. Or else.

17399160

1. Snow Like Ashes – Sara Raash

I read a few chapters of this one nearly a couple of years ago and I remember liking what I read so I really don’t know why I put it down. Silly me.

Neverwhere

2. Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman

I started Neverwhere for a readathon back in the summer and really enjoyed what I had read but (yes, you guessed it) I just lost interest interest for some reason. I am still excited for this story though and I really want to read some other books from Gaiman too so I need to get this one finished ASAP.

the-lies-of-locke-lamora

3. The Lies of Locke Lamora – Scott Lynch

This is probably the book I’m most excited for that’s on this list. And it’s definitely the small font and amount of pages that’s been putting me off. Because this definitely sounds the perfect kind of fantasy for me. I just need to get on with it. Maybe I’ll read it when the next Tome Topple comes around for motivation because clearly I need that!

the-manifesto

4. The Manifesto On How to be Interesting – Holly Bourne

Another one I’ve sort of just gone off reading. That being said, I do really want to get to Bourne’s Spinster Club trilogy which is probably why I haven’t gotten around to this one yet. But I’m not letting myself read the trilogy until I’ve finished this one so that’s a pretty good incentive I think.

23573418

5. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson

I don’t know why I’ve been putting this one off. In fact, it annoys me that I have. I’ve only heard great things about this one but I definitely want to be in the right kind of mood for it. I’ve heard it tugs at various heartstrings so I’ll read it when I’m prepared.

18189606

6. Since You’ve Been Gone – Morgan Matson

I’ve been in the middle of this one for nearly two years now so it really needs to get read. I did enjoy myself whilst reading it but it was dragging a bit and it’s a 500-ish page book so I just lost interest in continuing. But I do want to give this one more go. I plan to start from where I left off so I’ve probably forgotten most of what’s happened up to that point but, ah well, I think I’m just going to skim read the rest of this anyway.

afterworlds

7. Afterworlds – Scott Westerfeld

This is probably the oldest book on this list that’s been sitting on my shelves. I bought this just when I started discovering the online book world so it was definitely an on-the-spot purchase. I just need to read at least 50 pages to determine whether or not I should keep it. Hopefully I’ll like it, but it’s really not something I’d usually read. Either way, I’m looking forward to taking it off my TBR shelf.

ready-player-one

8. Ready Player One – Ernest Cline

I’ve heard only good things about Ready Player One so I really need to jump on the bandwagon. I think it’s just the tiny print that’s putting me off. I’m sure I’ll enjoy all the pop-culture references and video game aspects though so I am really looking forward to finally getting around to this one.

proxy

9. Proxy – Alex London

I’m not the hugest fan of dystopian anymore (as I was when I bought this) but I have heard really great things. I’m hoping it’ll be an actiony fast-paced read that I can devour in hours.

the-bone-season

10. The Bone Season – Samantha Shannon

I really want to start this series considering the 3rd one is coming out so soon. I’ve been put off a little by some reviews that say it’s quite info-dumpy but I am still intrigued. Especially since this is by a young UK author.

That’s all the books I, without a shadow of a doubt, absolutely MUST READ in 2017. Are there any books that have been on your TBR shelves for so long that you’ve decided to create a list to convince you to read them? Do let me know! Also, let me know if you’ve read any of these and loved them to help motivate me. Thanks bookish friends!!

Stark Reviews Logo

2 thoughts on “2017 TBR – Books I NEED to Read!!

    1. Yeah I’ve heard that about The Bone Season. I thought it was a cool new fantasy set in London but apparently not. I’ll still give it a go though. Maybe I’ll end up liking it since my expectations are pretty low! And I really can’t wait to get to Lies of Locke Lamora!! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

