Favourite Books of 2016

I was planning on only allowing myself to pick one book per author but 2016 was the year I fell completely in love with Brandon Sanderson and Cassandra Clare so I cheated!

It’s taken me a while to narrow all my favourite books of last year down to just 10… which is why I didn’t! Here’s a list of 17 of my favourite reads of 2016. And in no particular order…

27281393

1. The Sleeping Prince – Melinda Salisbury

Okay, so I do realise I just said in no particular order but, this was definitely my favourite book of last year *swoons* It’s a majestic book written by a majestic lady who I happen to adore very much indeed. Everything I could possibly ever want in a fantasy is right here, in this book. It’s perfect. Please read it. The last book in the trilogy comes out very, very soon. Eek.

Crooked Kingdom

2. Crooked Kingdom – Leigh Bardugo

Ah the Six of Crows duology, how I love you so. Again, literally everything I could ever want in a fantasy. Plus, this instalment focused on my two faves: Wylan and Jesper 😍 which was just fine by me!

Carry On

3. Carry On – Rainbow Rowell

This was probably the biggest surprise of the year for me. I fell completely head over heels in love with it. It was fun, cute, hilarious and just plain adorable. Exactly what I needed at the time and a book I’ll always go back to if I need a quick pick-me-up!

6547259

4. The Hero of Ages – Brandon Sanderson

This book was well worth all the time and energy I put into reading this trilogy. At the time, The Final Empire was probably the longest book I’d ever read and I was really nervous about getting into this trilogy. But, woah, what an ending! It was so incredibly satisfying. And it also started off my obsession with Sanderson’s Cosmere books which I’ve been making my way through ever since I finished this one.

18335634

5. Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare

Ohh what emotions! I loved Clockwork Prince too but this one is on the list purely for that dang epilogue. Basically, the more tears I shed, the more deserving a book is of this end-of-year list. This was the perfect end to the trilogy. I just bloody loved it.

the-bands-of-mourning

6. The Bands of Mourning – Brandon Sanderson

I can’t even tell you what state I was in when I read literally the very last paragraph of this book. I have never squealed so violently. I could never tire of reading a Mistborn novel and the Wax and Wayne books just get better and better with each one!

Lady Midnight

7. Lady Midnight – Cassandra Clare

Easily the strongest start to a Shadowhunter book yet and I loved how this one focused more on the faerie courts. The characters were spectacular and the Blackthorns have quickly become one of my most-beloved fictional families. If it wasn’t already obvious, I am a huge Cassandra Clare fangirl. And I’ll probably have a book of hers on my favourites list every year until she stops. Which I hope won’t be anytime soon!

15839984

8. Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge

I was blown away by the beautiful writing of this book. It was utterly gorgeous. And Nyx is definitely one of my favourite heroines from the last year. She was deeply flawed and realistic and I found her perspective really refreshing. Also, the addition of Greek mythology in this was just 😍

The Shadow Hour

9. The Shadow Hour – Melissa Grey

Oh how I love Echo and her gang of misfits! It’s the type of series whose characters stay with you long after you’ve finished reading it. I especially loved how the tone got a little darker in this one and we went further into some of the backstories of the characters. Also, what’s funny is that there are kind of two love triangles going on in this but I don’t even mind it. In fact, I actually love it. And I usually never feel that way about them! It just goes to show how well these characters are written that I can understand all their motives and connect with them so deeply. So sad there’s only one more book left in this series though.

the-screaming-staircase

10. The Screaming Staircase – Jonathan Stroud

I loved this book so much more than I thought I would. I thought I might like it when I picked it up but I didn’t realise just how deeply connected I’d become to the characters and the ghostly world. I’ve recently finished reading the sequel and I already know it’s going to end up on my most favourite reads of 2017! I cannot wait to get to the rest of this series!

28400928

11. The Art of Being Normal – Lisa Williamson

It’s quite rare that I find a contemporary that I love this much but The Art of Being Normal definitely sucked me right in. I devoured the entirety of this book in just one day which is pretty much unheard of for me. I was so invested in the lives of the MC’s and their stories were so realistic and heartbreaking yet funny and sweet at the same time. The friendships in this book is what I fell in love with and Williamson is a top-notch writer that I can’t wait to read more from.

Unboxed

12. Unboxed – Non Pratt

For a 140 page book, this story managed to do quite a lot. Mainly, make me cry my poor little heart out. I’m not sure how I came to be so emotionally invested in these characters but you know you’re reading a pretty powerful book when you feel like you’ve known these wonderfully-imagined characters your whole life. If you’re looking for a contemporary that’s a little out of the ordinary, you should definitely pick this one up!

8475505

13. Rebel Belle – Rachel Hawkins

I really wasn’t sure what to expect when I started reading this one but here we are. Harper made this book for me. She was such a great character that completely defied all the stereotypes. It does make me a bit sad to say that I won’t be carrying on with this series but I’ve heard quite negative things about the other two in this trilogy and I really don’t want that to ruin my love of this one, so I’m going to give them a miss. But that in no way diminishes my adoration for this one!

26047310

14. Rebel of the Sands – Alwyn Hamilton

I was very pleasantly surprised with this one. It was a heck of a lot of fun to read and it was exactly what I needed at the time. Sometimes, you just need to read something fast-paced, fun and a little bit dangerous which is exactly what I loved most about this book. And the backdrop was so interesting and one that I can’t say I’ve ever read about before this one which made for a distinctly compelling read.

mistborn-secret-history

15. Mistborn: Secret History – Brandon Sanderson

Okay, so, this book happened. I couldn’t quite believe what I was reading. I gasped and squealed so many times. Particularly whilst reading the last few pages and the postscript which alluded to certain other things which I desperately NEED to read about ASAP!! All the stars for this beauty.

14061957

16. Ruin and Rising – Leigh Bardugo

For me, Leigh Bardugo can do very little wrong. What I love most about the Grisha-verse is the world itself and we got to visit even more cool places in this last instalment. Also we were introduced to Harshaw and Oncat who are hands down two of my favourite characters in existence. It was just a deeply satisfying ending and I really hope Bardugo publishes more books in the Grisha-verse in the future.

Ritter_BeastlyBones_jkt_COMP.indd

17. Beastly Bones – William Ritter

I love this series so much. The books make me feel really at peace for some reason. Like I can relax because I know I won’t be let down. Abigail is pretty much my favourite leading lady in an ongoing series and the romance is probably my favourite ever 😍 I ship Abigail and Charlie so hard! I’ve recently finished reading the next book in the series and it’s the best one yet. Expect to see that on next years’ list too!

So that’s it for my rather long list of favourites from 2016. I was quite lucky to have had such a great year of reading. Here’s hoping 2017 will be just as good! What were some of your favourite reads from last year?

Stark Reviews Logo

3 thoughts on “Favourite Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

