Booktubeathon TBR | 2017

Hello bookish friends!

It’s everyone’s favourite time of year again – THE BOOKTUBEATHON!! If you aren’t familiar with the booktubeathon, I will link Ariel’s video explaining what it is here and her video talking about this years’ reading challenges here.

I am super excited for this years’ reading challenges. So without further ado, here are my picks:The Last Olympian

1. Read a book with a person on the cover

I’m going to be finishing off the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series by reading The Last Olympian for this challenge. Seeing as this is the last book in the series (and there’s lots of questions I’m eager to find the answers to), I can imagine I’ll be able to finish this book quite quickly. Also, I’ve found this series to be incredibly addicting and readable so it’s the perfect fit for a readathon!

The Colour of Magic

2. Read a hyped book

I’m going to be reading The Colour of Magic for this one and I AM EXCITED. I’ve been wanting to read Terry Pratchett for the longest time but I’ve been a bit too intimidated by the length of his Discworld series. Which is why this is the perfect opportunity to read such a popular and well-loved book.

The Case of the Girl in Grey

3. Read a book you can finish in one day

I’m continuing on with The Wollstonecraft Detective Agency middle-grade series by reading The Case of the Girl in Grey for this challenge. I really liked the first book. It had a fun mystery, interesting interpretations of historic people, cute illustrations and a great female friendship. It’s less than 200 pages and has HUGE writing so I should be able to finish this in one day. Fingers crossed.

The Baking Life of Amelie Day

4. Read a book with a character that is very different from you

I’m going to read one of my recent library finds for this one: The Baking Life of Amelie Day. It’s about a girl who loves to bake, who also lives with Cystic Fibrosis, who gets the opportunity to compete in Britain’s Best Teen Baker of the Year. It sounds like great fun and I’m interested to read about Amelie and her perspective on life and how her condition might affect her. I’ve also flicked through the book and it looks as though it contains recipes, too. Hopefully I won’t get too distracted from reading and start baking instead!

Dark Satanic Mills

5. Read a book entirely outside

I’ll be reading a graphic novel for this one: Dark Satanic Mills. It’s set in a dark, near-future Britain and follows the journey of a young woman framed for murder. It’s described as a “punked-up Wizard of Oz,” which just sounds like it’ll be a whole lot of fun. Because it’s pretty short, I reckon I’ll be able to read all of this outside. It might be a struggle as I live in the UK so our weather is a bit all over the place but here’s hoping we’ll have sunshine for the couple of hours it’ll take me to finish this one!

22844208

6. Read a book you bought/borrowed because of the cover

Like last year, I will be reading a Harry Potter book. This time around, it’ll be Deathly Hallows which I haven’t actually read since before I saw the last (two) film(s)! I definitely bought these Harry Potter covers purely for the covers and I have no regrets. They’re bloody beautiful!!

7. Read 7 books

I haven’t quite made my mind up about this one yet. I think I’m going to wait to see what kind of mood I’m in towards the end of the week. But the possible choices are: Release, The Girl of Ink and Stars and Smart. We shall have to wait and see!

I’ll be (attempting to!) make daily update posts of how I’m doing and which challenges I’m completing as I go along, so look out for those.

Let me know if you’re participating in the Booktubeathon and what your TBR choices are. I wish you the best of bookish luck if you are joining in, too!
Stark Reviews Logo

Leave a Reply

