Week 4 #TheReadingQuest

Hello bookish friends!

Sadly it’s the last week of the challenge, but I had such a great time participating in it!

I read another 706 pages for the final week, meaning I have read a total of 3,005 pages for the entirety of the challenge, which I am incredibly pleased about!

Here are my final stats:

Copy of Wrap-Up & TBR

I have completed my character quest! I did, however, change up a couple of the books I’d originally chosen for my quest. Instead of reading Proxy for book with a red cover, I read The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling. I was mildly enjoying the stories up until The Warlock’s Hairy Heart. I wasn’t expecting the amisia – it really took me by surprise. CW: If you’re planning to read this, be aware that words such as ‘cold,’ ‘strange’ and ‘remote’ are used. The wizard in the story doesn’t want to experience romantic attraction, so he uses Dark Magic (which we find out later in the story to mean the literal removal of his heart), suggesting those who don’t experience romantic attraction are heartless. Also the phrase: “all will change when a maid catches his fancy.” Because aros are just ‘waiting for the right person,’ right? *Rolls eyes* People pity him for not having romantic love in his life too *sighs* And when he puts his heart back in its place, someone actually says, “now you are healed and will know true love!” My fucking god. Because apparently people that don’t experience romantic attraction are broken and require fixing!?!?!?! I was so mad reading this story. I ended up giving the book as a whole 2 stars because I love the story about the three brothers. The rest were very meh. But wow the amisia. It made me feel so uncomfortable.

On a lighter note, I decided to shake things up a bit and read A Midsummer Night’s Dream for the ‘a book that has a TV/movie adaption. I haven’t read a Shakespeare play in years – hell, I haven’t read a play in years – so I thought it’d make a nice change to my recent reading habits. I’ve never read this one before, nor have I seen any screen adaption so it was definitely interesting. Not sure if I understood everything that went down but, hey, the writing was pretty and I enjoyed the ride. Particularly the part where the word ‘acorn’ was used as an insult!

Game Board.png

I also started the next character quest (bard). Sadly, I didn’t get very far, but I tried! I read The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Anderson and was a little let down by the story itself. I liked the message and the setting but I wanted more of the infamous Snow Queen. I wanted a deeper exploration of this little world. It was enjoyable but I was a tad disappointed overall.

I then read The Strings of Murder by Oscar De Muriel and I bloody loved this story. Victorian murder mysteries with supernatural elements are some of my favourite kind of stories and this definitely did not disappoint. I loved the main character. Pretentious, judgmental and short-fused though he was, he had some great one-liners and was a very endearing sort of character. I loved the interactions between our two detectives – they had some really great back and forth. The mystery itself was quite creepy and the story felt pretty tense at times (which is exactly what I like!). I cannot wait to see which mysteries our detectives set out to solve next! I would highly recommend this for mystery-lovers!

I also decided to read Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.S. Eliot for the ‘animal companion’ side quest. I adore the musical so I listened to each corresponding song whilst reading each poem which made the whole experience much more enjoyable. I may have also been singing along too!

Finally, I managed to complete another side quest. I finished Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson for the ‘respawn’ challenge. I cared slightly more about the second half than the first half. I liked the main character’s development. But I still just didn’t care enough about the story. It might be a more ‘it’s me, not you,’ type of thing since this book is so well loved. The writing was definitely good. It flowed really nicely. I just… couldn’t be bothered. Sorry!

So that’s it for #TheReadingQuest!! I hope everyone who participated had as much fun as I did! Thank you so much to Aentee at ReadAtMidnight for creating and hosting such a wonderful readathon. I can’t wait to see what amazing ideas you come up with next! Be sure to check out my overall wrap-up of #TheReadingQuest, posting soon!Stark Reviews Logo

 

5 thoughts on “Week 4 #TheReadingQuest

  1. Congrats on finishing your character quest! I just squeaked by and finished mine yesterday, so I was happy with that. Sorry about the crappy story in Tales of Beedle the Bard, though. That’s awful. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lol. I’m definitely going to start saying “you acorn!”
    There’s a modern BBC retold version of midsummer that has loads of famous people in like James mcavoy that is set at a holiday park that was really good. You should watch it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] This book was just quite poor. It felt really half-arsed and like not much effort at all went into the creativity of the stories. It failed to capture the magic of the Wizarding World and the only story I ended up enjoying was the one that was already written for Deathly Hallows. Also, there was a really bad case of amisia which managed to shock me. And I’m usually past shock these days. I think it was because no one has ever mentioned it at all before so it took me completely by surprise. I talked in more detail about this in my week four wrap up of the Reading Quest. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

