Books

My New Years’ Bookish Resolutions 2018

Hello bookish friends!

This year I’ll be (or I *should* be) taking things a little easy reading-wise as I’ll be finishing up my masters (and writing my dissertation – help!) for the first three quarters of the year and then (fingers crossed!) I’ll be busy in my full-time library job after that.

1. With that in mind, my first resolution will be to set my Goodreads goal at 65 books this year. I’ve recently gotten into audiobooks so I think, based on this and the fact that I’m in the middle of a few graphic novel series, I’ll be able to accomplish this goal. I’ll have to read 1.25 books per week so it should be quite doable!

2. My second goal of the year is to read a Rick Riordan book each month. I started the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series this time last year and I’m almost halfway through the Heroes of Olympus series. I’ve loved reading Riordan’s books in 2017, so I’ll like to carry that on and read all his books: The Heroes of Olympus, The Kane Chronicles, Magnus Chase and The Trials of Apollo (all that are currently released). Riordan’s books are light-hearted, fun adventure stories that I love to escape in, so I cannot wait to get to all his books this year.

3. I would also like to read more diversely this year. By this I mean a couple of different things. First, and most importantly, I would like to read more books about marginalised characters and more books by marginalised authors, especially own voices books. Double especially if they’re own voices aro+/ace and pan books! And I would also like to read different kinds of books or stories in different formats – e.g. plays, poetry collections, e-books, audio books, non-fiction books, etc.

4. My next resolution is to try to complete 10 series again. I nearly managed it last year with 7. Since a few of my favourite series are ending this year, I think I’ll be able to complete this goal quite easily. I’m hoping to finish the following:

  1. Jackaby (1 book)
  2. Lockwood & Co. (1 book)
  3. Shades of Magic (1 book)
  4. Throne of Glass (1 book)
  5. Magisterium (1 book)
  6. The Dark Artifices (1 book)
  7. Shadowmagic (2 books)
  8. The Heroes of Olympus (3 books)
  9. The Kane Chronicles (3 books)
  10. Magnus Chase (3 books)

I also might try to finish: His Dark Materials (2 books) and The Young Elites (2 books) but we’ll have to see how I’m doing! Also, I might have already finished Jackaby and Lockwood & Co. so I am already excelling at this challenge!

5. If you saw my post looking back at my bookish resolutions from last year, you will have seen that I only read 3 books of the ones I had to get to in 2017. So I failed completely for that goal. This year, a few of the same books will be making an appearance and I’ll be choosing one each month out of my TBR jar to motivate me! The ones I’d like to get to that have been on my shelves a while are:

  1. The Darkest Minds
  2. The Manifesto on How to Be Interesting
  3. The Lies of Locke Lamora
  4. The Bone Season
  5. Wide Awake
  6. Ready Player One
  7. A Game of Thrones
  8. The Knife of Never Letting Go
  9. I’ll Give You the Sun
  10. Proxy
  11. Neverwhere
  12. Ink and Bone

If I don’t get to the ones in bold this year, I’m going to unhaul them. They’ve been on my shelves for years and they’re starting to bug me! So I really need to focus on these books.

6. My last goal for the year is more to do with blogging in general. I’d like to keep posting three times a week – this timetable really works for me at the moment. I think I’ll change my schedule slightly to Mon, Weds, Fri (instead of Sun, Weds, Fri) since that just makes more sense to me. What I really would like to do this year is put more effort into reading and commenting on other people’s posts. I feel like I focus too much on what I’m writing and I miss out on other people’s content (and constantly make excuses for doing so). So this year, I need to make a conscious effort to get more involved in the book blogging community!


And I think that about covers my main reading/blogging goals for 2018. I don’t have that many life goals this year, except to complete my masters, get a full-time library job (preferably in a university library) and continue saving up money to move out (eventually!)

What are some of your reading/blogging goals for this year?

Stark Reviews Logo

5 thoughts on “My New Years’ Bookish Resolutions 2018”

    1. Thanks! So am I!! I always end up leaving too much time inbetween each book so I forget what happens when I pick up the next one in the series or I just think ‘well, I’ve left it so long, might as well not bother now!’ Haha

      Like

  1. Love your series resolution! Such a good idea! I have so many series I need to finish (and probably many re-reads to do at this point!).
    My goals include reading another 50 books this year (and not having to cram the last 11 in the final 2 weeks of the year, lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂 Same! I’m really bad at starting new series when I should be focusing on the ones I’m currently reading – oops. I feel your pain for the cramming books in. It’s never a good idea. Hopefully, this year we can both pace ourselves!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment